Mission San Miguel Arcangel Historical Time Line
Mission San Miguel Founded
Disastrous fire destroys buildings.
1816 Present Mission Church begun. In 1816 stone foundations were laid for the church which survives today. Under the direction of Padre Juan Martin, the Indians had been preparing adobe for several years. The construction proceeded rapidly. And, in 1818, the Church was ready for roofing. Three years later, Esteban Munras arrived to supervise the interior decorations for which the Church is now famous.
1836 Mission San Miguel is secularized. On July 14, 1836, Ignacio Coronel assumed jurisdiction over San Miguel's mission property and lands for the civil government. Three years after the secularizing of the mission, many of thc Indians had run away; Padre Moreno found the mission so despoiled that he had to retire elsewhere to support himself. Padre Abella, the last Franciscan at San Miguel, died in July, 1841.
1859 U.S. Govermnent returns Mission to the Church. Mission San Miguel, which had been confiscated after secularization, was returned to the Church by President Buchanan.
1878 A padre is once more sent to Mission San Miguel. After 38 years without a resident padre, Rev. Philip Farrelly took up residence as First Pastor of Mission San Miguel. Secular clergy made various repairs to the mission buildings
1928 Mission Returned to Franciscans In 1928 Mission San Miguel was returned to thc Franciscan Padres, the same group who had founded the mission in 1797. The Franciscans began an extensive renovation and preservation effort which continues to the present day. Today, completely privately funded, the Mission functions as a parish church, novitiate, and retreat house.
Today Best Preserved Interior Many of its original decorations are still intact. The mission's appearance today is much the same as when it was first founded, and it stands as one of California's best-preserved and authentic reminders of the past.